Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For students who are planning to work in business, learning about psychology is more important than learning about technology. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern 21st century soft skills, such as understanding other people's desires, are much more crucial than hard ones, such as knowing how a certain device works. Personally, I believe that nowadays the learning process should be organized around psychology discipline, especially for students who plan to link their careers with business. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the more you understand people in your team the better results you can achieve. And to do so you have to comprehend what motivates people. And only the psychology classes or courses could provide this information to you. My experience is a compelling illustration of this. Two years ago I, as a manager in a major Russian oil and gas company, was assigned a complex project that had to be done in a short period. It was my first experience of managing more than twenty team members. Unfortunately, I made mistake and focused on the technical part of the project, as I knew how to deal with it, rather than led the team. It was not a surprise for me that I did not manage to meet the deadline. My supervisor assessed my job and provided me with clear feedback that I had to boost my soft skills. To do so I participated in a special program that was about psychological issues of managing teams and people. As a result, my next project was finished within the time, moreover, I was nominated for the best project manager award. I definitely think that if I had psychology classes when I was at university, I would have not made such mistakes.

Secondly, in contrast with the technological aspects of the things that change every 5-10 years, the psychological ones stay constant for centuries. That is why students should dedicate time to the latter, and this knowledge could be used for a whole life. I remember that at university I spent two semesters going deeper into the subject of using laser technology to store and write data to CD-disks. Does anyone in 2020 using such devices? Obviously no. On the other hand, I still use tips provided by psychology professor about how to work with stress.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that psychology should be the main focus for students who want to get good results in business. This is because it will allow them to make the most of the employees, and, moreover, this knowledge will not be obsolete.