Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the role that teachers have on the students and the society's success. In this regard, one controversial question is whether teachers' value in society were more in the past or nowadays. Despite the arguments asserting that today teachers have more appreciation in society, I believe otherwise, maintaining that they had more value in the past. To support this, there are myriads of reasons, two of which are going to be aptly elucidated through the following paragraphs.

First and foremost. the most prominent reason that comes to my mind is that in the past teachers were the model role of either students or other people in society. However, nowadays people are influenced by other individuals such as company owners and artists. These alterations have led to a remarkable decline in teachers' position in society. Recently a study has been carried out at the University of Tehran about the difference of teachers' value in society between today and twenty years before. Scientists assessed some peoples' ideas, which were selected randomly, about the teachers' value in now and the past. According to the results obtained, teachers have less appreciation today in comparison to the past.

Furthermore, another noteworthy reason that should be taken into account is that thanks to the advent of new technologies and access to different sources, students could learn many things without the need for teachers. Therefore, teachers' value has decreased not only among the students but also in society. For instance, my younger brother, who is a high school student, most of the time browses the web to find information about his lessons. So, he does not have a high motivation to go to school and learn his lessons from teachers. This has caused the value of his teachers to become less in his mind. Also, my brother's thought about his teachers has had an adverse effect on our parents' ideas about the teachers.

To sum up, taking all the aforementioned reasons to account, one can conclude that in the past, teachers were more appreciated because they had a high social level. In addition, they had more effect on students' success.