Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have been arguing a lot whether or not teachers should talk about their political and social beliefs in front of their students. Personally, I think that it is beneficial for young people to be aware of points of view of their pedagogues on the matter. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following assay.

To start with, pupils can learn about political affairs of their countries when their professors have conversations about this in a classroom. These days, teenagers are interested in technological devices such as cell phones and computers and do not watch the news on television. Therefore, they do not know what is going on around the world, and in this case, teachers can be a source of knowledge for them on the topic. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a senior, the political situation in my country was unstable and citizens faced a new presidential election. I knew not much about presidential candidates. However, my history professor did not hesitate to describe each of them during school lessons. From him, my classmates and I had a chance to learn about the background of each of the applicants and their plans to manage Russia. It helped me to understand many problems which my country was dealing with and shaped my personal political preferences.

Secondly, by talking to students about social problems, pedagogues can encourage youth to actively participate in the life of their hometowns. School staff responsible not only for providing their pupils with knowledge in literacy and numeracy, but also have to explain to children why it is important to help people around them. For instance, my chemistry teacher was an exceptional one, she volunteered at a local nursing home and founded a nonprofit charity organization to support families with disabled children. During her classes, she often narrated stories about her social engagement and told us how happy she felt assisting people in need. The conversations with her inspired us to start volunteering in hospitals, fire departments, and local libraries and develop our small town. If we had not had such discussions, my peers and I have never experienced the pleasure of helping others.

To conclude, I strongly believe that students should know about their teachers` opinions on a matter of politicians and social issues. This is because it will help young learners increase intellectually, and make the life of their communities better.