Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life

Awareness of how people live in other parts of our planet can be highly beneficial. Personally, I agree with the statement that it is crucial to be aware of what is going on around the Globe. There are a few reasons why I hold this opinion.

First of all, when people know that something terrible is happening to others on the other end of the world, they can help each other. Nowadays, modern technology, such as the Internet, let us participate in a life of people who we even do know in person, but who we can support when they desperately need it by providing them with food, shelter and fresh water. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When a few weeks ago, people from Texas were suffering from extensive flood, my husband and I sent them fresh water, clothes, and food. It was feasible to accomplish because of the media`s reports from Texas and my habit to watch News on television. If I had not watched the News regularly, I would not have known that people in the United States were in need. This is why it is extremely important to know what is happening in the life of others on the planet.

Secondly, when a person has information about the life of people from all around the Globe, he can share this information with others and become a valuable member of the society. People who have knowledge are interesting for others, they are fascinating to talk with, and from them, we can learn something new. For instance, as I said before, I have a habit to watch News on television. This makes me informed in different aspects of life, such as politic, economy, and climate problems. Because of this, it is always easy for me to find a topic for a conversation with a variety of people from different countries, which helps me to build a friendship with people from all around the world. To that end, my interest in worldwide affairs benefits me with a myriad of friends.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is indispensable for people to be interested in events happening all over the world. This is because it can result in pivotal support for those who in trouble and can help individuals to socialize.