Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The statement sheds light on the impact of technology on the lives of children. It states that technology has had an adverse effect on the creativity of children. I personally disagree with the statement and believe that if used carefully and in a controlled manner, technological advances can lead to ease in learning and provide immense exposure to children which can proove to be beneficial in their overall development.

With the advent of teaching aids, complex phenomenon can be easily explained and visualized. For example, in a biology class, the working mechanism of the heart can be easily viewed today using a graphic video. Just a decade ago, students in class had to rely only on the diagram in their textbook to visualize this process. Similarly, with the availability of tools like projectors in the classroom, a boring event in history can be depicted in the form of an interesting film. Such techniques were not so easily available just a decade ago.

With easy internet access, an ocean of information is just a click away. This is especially valuable, for example, during science projects. In the past for example, a child had to rely on resources immediately availabe to him like the encycolpedia, or the local library, during such assignments. Today an almost unlimited source of data and information is available on the computer for a child to complete his project. This ease is the product of technological advancement.

Another important aspect of technology is the accessibility that it has provided to handicapped children and even adults. For instance, the electronic wheel chair is nothing short of a blessing for a child who has a difficulty in walking, advancements in material science have led to the design of comfortable prosthetic implants, the progress made by scientists in the use of Braille language has had a significant impact on the education of blind students.

Keeping in mind all these examples mentioned hitherto, technological advancements have helped children. It has given them access to information present globally and has also made their lives easier. There are cases where misuse of technology has had bitter consequences, however, in my opinion, a close parental control can resolve such discrepancies. All in all, I feel technology has aided children's imagination. An effect which would enhance creativity and not hamper it.