Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this increasingly complex world, all individuals in different ranges of ages are subjected to a vast variety of information sources. There are widely differing views on the matter of permitting kids to be exposed to television advertisements. Some people would suggest that TV advertising is not detrimental for kids. I strongly believe that putting kids as a goal of advertisements can lead to irreparable problems for children. The reasons to substantiate my points of view are presented as follows.

First of all, it is vital that we consider the negative effects of watching advertisements for their impacts on kids’ unconsciousness. Each advertisement is created by companies just considering their effects on children’s consciousness and trying to persuade and attract their attention, although it can be responsible for physiological damages by having side effects on kids’ healthy lifestyle. One particularly good example of this is advertisement of all kinds of junk food which result in some health problems and changing children’s eating habits.

Further and even more importantly, though, kids do not have the ability to tell what is good for them and what is not, and they do not know how to react to the advertisements and they do what the advertisements say. For instance, I have a nephew who has four years old and like to spend more time watching television. One day he was watching an advertisement that by wearing a jacket you could fly, after finishing the advertisement my nephew stood and tried to fly like what he saw on the television. So advertisements have a direct impact on our children’s behavior and that is for parents do not let their kids to be directed to any kind of advertisements, and for government to take some considerations in order to control them.

To sum up, having considered the aforementioned reasons, I once again reaffirm my position that kids’ should be controlled in the way they are exposed to advertisements. This is because of the advertisements’ side effects on children’s unconsciousness and kids’ inability to detect the good advertisements from bad one.