Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We live in an increasingly complex world. There are widely differing views on the matter of whether students should give priority to understanding concepts and ideas or learning facts. Some people would suggest that learning facts is more important and students must learn as much facts as possible. I personally believe that it is more important for students to learn ideas and concepts, so they will be able to truly understand and use facts. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, it is indisputable to consider concepts more significant than facts since learning ideas and concepts lead to better understanding facts. Concepts are the keystone of facts. And this is why in the class we start learning concepts than facts. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in high school, I always had a problem with remembering math formulas. One they, instead of memorizing formulas without knowing about them I decided to prove them and learn the formula’s facts then memorize them, which made formulas remembering so easy because I did know the facts about them.

One point which I believe to be absolutely pivotal is the fact that the purpose of school is to prepare students for full participation in society. In order to be part of a community learners need ideas and concepts even more than they need facts. For instance, doctors rather than being familiar with every single medical fact facts as drugs name or writing a prescription, they need to know about safety, responsibility and bedside manner.

To sum up, I once again reaffirm my position that learning concepts and ideas far outweigh learning facts owing to firstly, learning concepts gives us opportunity to learn facts better. And secondly, knowing concepts and ideas cultivate more sociable and beneficial ones to society.