Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

According to me, the television advertising directed towards children aged between two to five should be allowed.

Television has reached every single persons house, be it a person from an economically lower background or a person from a wealthy family, everybody watches or comes across some amount television in the day.

The advertising agencies have taken this fact to their advantage by tieing up with major companies and brands for promotion of their products. One such category of advertising is for products related to children.

Firstly, the reason why advertisements are benefiting the public is that parents with young children, become aware of what the industry is producing. The various products coming up in the market provide a wide range to choose from, based on the particular need. For example, protein powders to be added in milk have different constituents and in different proportions. Not all children are susceptible to digest all the contents, thus due to the advertisement, the parents become acquainted with the product, specific to what will suit their child. Doctors are also finding it easy to refer a specific thing by referencing it to the advertisement. This bridges the gap between the doctor and parent of the child.

Moreover, children are glued to the television set and the content seen by them is influential. When the kids watch the advertisements on television, it motivates them to use it or try it out. The product can be a medicine or calcium tablets etc.

The flowery images and scenes mould their minds in a way that the parents don't have to be behind their child for its consumption. The children readily take it without creating a fuss.

Although, the advertisements are doing a proactive task, there can be some shortcomings. Not all advertisements are regarding the growth or betterment of the children, some of them are marketing toys an chocolates that is commodities which are not necessary. As mentioned before the kids are exposed to the media through television, they then tend to ask for this kind of stuff. For some parents, its easy to fulfill their kids needs without thinking twice about the expenditure, but for the people who cannot afford it easily, they tend to flounder around.

Usually this ends up with a deprived child or an exploited parent.

To conclude, I am of the conviction that a strong aid like media should take its position seriously and its job more responsiblity. television is watched on a global scale, hence the impact it creates is also humongous. Proper care and thought must be put by the advertising agencies towards what content they telecast, especially about the children.

By doing so, the affinity thriving among the masses about television will be advantageous and pioneering.