Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Along with having more attention to environmental issues, people today are trying to figure out how to decrease the green-gas emissions to the Earth. Some people claim that automobiles are one of the main pollutions to our Earth, thus, other means of transportation should replace most cars. However, I do not see any sign that it will be viable. Therefore, I believe that it is unlikely that there will be fewer cars in twenty years, for the following reasons.

First of all, public transportation cannot reach every corner of the world. The most significant advantage of driving a car is the driver can get to the place that public transportation can hardly reach. For example, there are a lot of natural sightseeing landscapes in Taiwan that are located in very remote locations. If people want to travel there, they would inevitably have a car first. Otherwise, they may have to spend most of their vacation on transportation. Therefore, cars still play an important role in people's life.

Moreover, even though public transportation can reach every place of our world, there would be more challenges that we have to overcome. One of the important challenges is how to maintain the operation of public transportation. We all know maintaining the operation of public transportation requires a considerable amount of money. Hence, a complete transportation network usually appears only in urban areas, since urban areas contain more population than other regions. If we build the same network in the countryside, with insufficient users using it, it will probably finish all the budget for basic operation. And eventually, lead to the shutting down of the service.

Finally, there are more and more automobile production companies investing their resource for alternative energy cars. Because if they can provide alternative solutions for the environmental concern, people would not need to exploit public transportation as their only option to mitigate air pollution. The most renowned example is Tesla, Tesla is one of the most successful automobile manufacturers for green energy cars. And with the success of Tesla, more automobile manufacturers, such as Toyota, VOLVO, are developing their eco-friendly cars. Consequently, an increasing number of people choose to buy green energy cars, instead of taking public transportation.

In conclusion, though public transportation is the most straightforward way to mitigate air pollution, still other issues waiting for us to surmount. And with the appearance of alternative solutions, I do not reckon that there will be fewer cars within twenty years.