Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue of having a broad knowledge of many academic subjects or specializing in one specific subject is a hot-debated one. On one hand, some people think that having broad knowledge is better than specializing in one specific subject. On the other hand, some people believe that we should specialize in one subject. However, I believe that having broad knowledge and specializing in one subject are equally important.

To begin with, having broad knowledge is one of the imperative elements for innovation. With multiple backgrounds of knowledge mix together, people can think about one topic from different angles, and therefore it is easier for innovations to appear. That's why many universities today start encouraging students to study diversified subjects. For example, I was studying in the psychology department at the university. I remember when I was still a student, my professor encouraged me to take courses from the computer science department. Because he thought that learning programming is inevitable today, and with the help of programming skills, it would make me apply my knowledge in the popular field easily. And this field is known by a lot of people as artificial intelligence, AI. Since knowing computer science, it will be easier to communicate with engineers and support them to create more human-like machines.

However, specializing in one specific subject has its importance as well. Most of the knowledge that we are learning today is based on the research results from many professional scholars before. Without their devotion to a specific field, we can hardly understand the world that we live in now. More importantly, specializing in a specific subject can help people work in that field to make a breakthrough. Take TSMC, a semiconductor manufacturer in Taiwan, for example. This company has been devoting to producing chips for decades, therefore, they can have more advanced techniques in producing chips, compare with its competitors such as SAMSUNG and Intel. If TSMC is like its competitors developing different types of business, I believe it may not be able to have such achievement today.

In conclusion, developing a broad range of knowledge and specializing in a specific subject have their importance. And the world needs both types of people, so the world that we live in can make progress.