Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the appearance of new technology, things which used to be popular and widely used keep turning into antiques in museums and many believe that cars will be among those things in the future. Modern science and technology development changes with each new day, it is no wonder that transportations will also change rapidly and there will be fewer cars in the future.

Technologies changes so quickly that we may have new transportations in the future. The novel "Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea" describes an enclosed boat which can travel under the sea, but not after so long time the submarine roaring across the horizon. We can always see something which used to be fiction turns out to be true a few minutes later. People are all like new things, so it is no wonder that when the new modes of transportation appear they may choose the new way to go outside but not the car.

Another reason which may lessen the use of the car is the convenience of public transportation. In many big cities, traffic jams caused by early peaks trouble people who have so much work to do. So many people arrive at their companies later and late for their important meetings by driving while people come there on time by subway. Cars may lead to so many time managing problems in big cities and public transportation is obvious a more effective way to save time.

Although we know that cars are significant inventions in human civilization, we cannot deny the pollution they carry. The gases they emit may pollute the environment and cause greenhouse effect. Also, cars cost so much fuel oil and petroleum is non-renewable resources. As so many environmental problems are caused by cars, we have to reduce the use of cars in order to protect the earth which is our common homeland.

So it is not hard to imagine why there will be fewer cars in twenty years for the rapidly changes in technology, the convenience of public transportation and the protection for the earth.