Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are some universities which give equal importnace to sports and social activites same as classes and libraries. These universities also receive equal financial support. However, it compleletly disagree to the above statement. I believe that universities should give more importance to classes and libraries than social activites and sports for the below three reasons.

First of all, univrsity should foucs on classes and library because most students join universitiy for professional courses like engineering, medical etc. Sports and social activity are secondary to the students. For example, There was a student in my class whose aim was to become a doctor. He used to study whole day without any distraction asbecoming a docot require a lot of dedication. Thus if university focus equally on sports and social activity then students will not be able to focus on studies and will get distracted.

Secondly, University should not provide equal funds to the social activites and sports same as classes and libraries because many job hiring companies demand good knowledge and good hands on equipments and tools. The comapines give very less weightage to social and sports skills. The tools and epuipments are way costiler and if sports and classes are given equal funding then it would be difficult to spend huge amount on books and equipments. An year ago, only 15 students selected out of 100 from campus in SET university because they had equal attention to sports due to which students were not able to excel the interiew test. Also, the students had poor equipment handling skills. Thus, if SET university had given more importnace to classes and library funding they would have more selection of studnets on campus.

Finally, if university give equal impotnace to classes and sport then the syllabus completion is difficult because the syllabus is vast including practical sessions and assignments. It is barely possible for student to take an hour for other activites. For example during my engineering I had college from moring 8am to evening 5 pm. After college hours, I had to work on assignments , projects. Thus, Equal importnace to classes and sports will cause incompletion of syllabus.

Thus, universities should give more importance and funding to the classes and libraries than sport and social activites.