Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

This topic leads me to think of my college life which affected my life a lot when I was still an undergraduate. This raises the question of whether sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support at universities and colleges. My view is that sports and social activities should receive equal financial support from universities and colleges.

First of all, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries because colleges can make students learn teamwork by holding these kinds of events. For example, when I was an undergraduate, the college I studied often held a lot of sports competitions, like basketball or football games, to let students learn teamwork in these sports games, and it worked because when we get a champion in these events, we could understand each other more and use this valuable experience in other events that need teamwork. To cite an instance, when I was eighteen years old, I attended a football team in my college. With this chance, I can totally immerse myself in the football game and learn how to establish distinguished teamwork with my teammates. As a result, we use these kinds of prized experiences to win more and more games and realize the method of building teamwork with other people. By contrast, if colleges don’t hold these sports events, we will not truly understand what true teamwork is.

Second, sports and social activities should receive as much budget as classes and libraries because some of these events that will need a lot of money to maintain their quality can only be held by colleges. For example, when I still studied at the university, I often participated in some social activities that were held by my college, and these events tended to need the college to provide financial support to accomplish. Initially, few students would attend these sports and social activities because of their terrible quality. However, when more and more students required the college to make a change and improve this problem, the college finally decide to put much money into these events to raise their quality. By contrast, if sports and social activities can not receive as much budget as classes and libraries, these events will be more difficult to sustain their quality.

To conclude, these are the two reasons why I hold the belief that sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries. In addition, I would say that sports and social activities not only make us more successful in college but also influence our future deeply.