Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In contemporary society, as more and more people regard education as a crucial part of life, budges of universities and colleges for classes and libraries rise to a popular topic. Most people contend that universities should spend more on classes in order to furnish high-quality education and attract more students, whereas some people hold that universities and colleges are supposed to attach the significance to sports and social activities so that they are able to cultivate more versatile students. From my perspective, sports and social activities are essential for young adults, and should receive the same financial support as classes and libraries.

First and foremost, sports and social activities ensure students to study with high efficiency. Since studying for a long time will result in weariness, it makes students work at a low efficiency and make mistakes easily. However, if they participate in some activities during their free time instead of keeping studying, they will be relaxed and more comfortable. Playing sports can not only help release the pressure, but also prevent students from illness. As we can imagine, if a student is very weak and easily gets cold, he is unable to concentrate on his schoolwork when he is sick, and he will certainly lag behind on his self- development. To illustrate, my neighbor’s son is 20 years old, and he is studying in a famous university. But during his first semester, he often got sick due to the lack of exercise. Also, since he always stayed up late to study, he had problems with his neck and he needed to stay at home for an entire year for treatment. These problems wasted his time and led to bad grades. Hence, being involved in some activities can help students to study better and it is beneficial for universities to offer enough financial support.

In addition, social activities and sports can foster the capacities of students which they cannot gain in classes. Sports and social activities require a lot of teamwork, but in classes, students cannot learn about the importance of cooperation because there are not too many opportunities for them to exchange ideas with each other and cooperate to complete works. For example, when they play basketball, they should pass the ball to ensure the ball to get into the basket rather than dribbling the ball by oneself. But in classes or libraries, they usually read books alone and finish their essays by themselves. Nonetheless, the spirit of cooperation is vital for everyone in his future career. Therefore, sports and social activities matter a lot for students’ further development and universities should support them.

Last but not least, taking part in sports and activities enables students to make new friends. If a student stay in classrooms or libraries all the time, he can only have friends that he meets in classes or libraries. On the contrary, if he participates in sports or other activities in his free time, he is able to find people who share the same interests as him on sports or other activities. Then, he is able to communicate with more people, and make more friend. Making more good friends is a good opportunity to learn from others. That’s why students are supposed to be involved in more activities and schools should furnish financial support for them.

In a nutshell, sports and social activities is the base of students’ bright future; thus, colleges and universities should not only focus on classes because activities require the equal financial support.