Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should require students to study many subjects in different fields rather than just their major

Nowadays , I would say the more you know the more you grow . Considerating that the sources of knowledges are unlimited and our ability to learn and remember everything is limited , also the disponibility of the time is another factor that can not promisses us that we can finish everything in time ,makes me to disagree with the statement above.

First of all, I would like to say that our time is not enough for us to get everything done. If the university will require the students to be activ in different fields , it will make them dissapointed and they will quit the school, because they will not be able to succeed. I have this impression based on the experience that I had with one of my friends. Couple years ago, she was attending the university of pharmacy and she was very good student there. Her parents wanted her to be an excelent student and also to play the piano and play soccer! The first year she did great, but as the years passes the university became more difficult and she did not have time to study and play piano and succed in the same time. Thus, she became very dissapointed of not completing her taskes in time and quit the university.

Furthermore, our brains do not have the unlimited ability to learn and remebmer everything. In this case, if the students will be required to study in different fields, it will diminish the number of professionals. For example , if someone wants to study medicine and become a doctor in the future, he will need more time to get focused in his major field to succeed and be a good doctor and to be able to help people in a proper way. When my brother was in the university, they asked him them to study only the major fields and he, together with all of his clasemates becames very proffessional in their jobs.

Finally, I would say the best method is, to give the students an opportunity to choice if they want to study something else rather than their major fields and not to be required. For instance, when I was at school we had the option to choose if we want to study something else rather then our major fields. We were not required. They called this program ''optional'' , and we were able to chioce the fields that we were interested in. This was a good idea , we loved it and had fun. Have fun and learn is the best way to succeed!

In summary, when the universities required from the students to study many things the society will have people with general knoledges, but lack of proffessionals!