Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, education has played a prominent role in prospering society and eventually fulfilling its people. Schools and universities are the cradles of education; therefore, many policies have been made to enhance the productivity of universities and schools. One of the most challenging topics on which there is no consensus among people is the best way to accomplish a project. Opinions are divided into whether team working is more beneficial for students, or doing the assignment individually is a better option. When it comes to me, it is my firm conviction that although working in a group has its own advantages, the benefits of working on your own outweigh the disadvantages. There are several reasons to support this, two of which are going to be aptly explored in the following essay.

Unfortunately, there is always someone in a group who is prone to not intervene in the project's procedure and take a free ride. This takes a drastic toll on the assignment and its quality. In other words, when one of the members does not contribute to the project at all, he/she will put other members under a great amount of pressure and tension, which will contribute to others' anxiety and affects their productivity adversely. Take my personal experience as a compelling example of this. A couple of years ago, I was assigned a project about the effects of air pollution on peoples' health. All the students were put in a group of four. I was blind to the fact that working in a group has its own hurdles until of my classmate gave up and did not participate at all. Therefore, because of a tight deadline, we did not have an ample amount of time to complete our responsibilities properly, and failed. We not only did not broaden our knowledge in that specific subject but also I lost the opportunity of being a top student.

Another worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that, without a shadow of a doubt, team-work will excel one's skills in cooperation conspicuously; however, it enables students to be proficient in one aspect of the project. To be more specific, students often shoulder responsibilities equally. As a result, each of the students will concentrate on his/her part; he/she will need other students to learn about other aspects. To talk about it in detail, in the aforementioned situation one of my friends shouldered programming, which was intolerable for me, so after even three years, I could not write a program in friendly users application, such as Python successfully.

In summary of what has been illustrated and discussed in detail, it is a foregone conclusion that students should do their tasks lonely. The fact that they do not experience irresponsibility of others, coupled with they learn all ins and outs od a subject entirely, is the reason which strengthens my claim.