Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, people have been searching for various things that make them elated and satisfied with their lives. One of the most challenging topics on which there is no consensus among people is peoples' happiness. Opinions are divided into whether people live happily these days, or in the past life was more satisfying. When it comes to me, it is my firm conviction that, although in the modern era, people are inundated with numerous responsibilities, their lives are full of enjoyment compared to the past. There are several reasons to support this, two of which are going to be aptly explored in the following essay.

First and foremost, the proliferation of technology leads to an invention of various brand-new devices which not only meet peoples' need but also they are less energy-consuming and more time-saving. Technology makes people experience a high standard of living. Moreover, the growth of technology applies to other aspects of society, such as medical and social interaction. The fast-paced evolution enables scientists to push back the frontiers of knowledge and discover new medicines curing acute disease, which was once believed to be fatal. Also, the internet, which is now a prominent factor in communicating, offers long-distance relationships to be in touch with each other, and as a result, tighten their emotional bonds noticeably. In consequence, lifespan has been prolonged conspicuously, which increases life satisfaction remarkably.

Another worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that after the revolution, legislating new rules caused people to have social equality. In other words, in retrospect, people used to suffer from inhumanity, and they were deprived of their basic rights. To be more specific, people with lower status in society were dependent on others to have basic amenities of their lives, and most of the time, they were overcome with affluent families. However, after imposing new rules, people were more in control of their own lives and had the right to decide for their futures, even the one who was in calamitous poverty. According to statistics, in the last century, most farmers and their families died because of a severe famine, even though they were doing agriculture seasonally. This example is sufficient evidence of discrimination and dissatisfaction.

In summary of what has been illustrated and discussed in detail, it is a foregone conclusion that people can enjoy their lives more frequently today. The fact that technology brought about convenience, coupled with social equity, has enabled people to live more freely, is the reason which strengthens my claim.