Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students have many requirements to complete their study in the college. There are many classes to pass and get a good grade. However, some mandatory classes, such as history, which is not related to one's field of study are unnecessary and makes students to study extra. From my perspective of view, it should not be required to take history courses for all students because it can be waste of time for non history major students and can cause problems for professors due to uninterested students in classes.

To start with, mandatory history classses can be time consumer for science major students because they will not need that information to practice their career. Nowadays, course requirements are highly demanding and students are usually busy all the time. when it comes to a science student, their schedule is full of laboratory hours since they need experiments to master the knowledge they learn in lectures. History classes can put an extra burden for that students. I remember the time I had my history class in my fresh year. It was not elective and I needed to pass it to continue my second year. There is a policy in my country, Italy, for taking the second year courses at a university students should pass history classes in their first year. To me it was very difficult to study that history class because I had my anatomy exam at the same day. Anatomy is one of my major classes since I was a medical student and I wanted to master it. As a result, I had only a limited time to study history and it made me stress out. Even though I was able to pass my history class it required me to put too much effort. Besides, I am not prouf of saying that I do not recall any information from my history class. That is why I believe that history classes should be elecetive for students whose field is related.

Another point to consider is that some students can distract the professor during class since the they are not interested in history. In many cases, class distractions is resulted from students who are not willingness to learn and participate. It is very crucial to provide a class enviroment that all students can be active during class. However, it is impossible to have one's attention to a subject if there is not any interest to the subject. What I mean is that when all students are eager to listen to professor and participate actively, professors can be more motivated to teach everything they know. As a result it helps the quality of classes. Therefore, it is essintial to have students aho are interested in the subject.

To sum up, for the two resons discussed above, history classes should not be mandatory for all students. It should be elective for students who are interested in history.