Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?
Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between two people.
Give reasons and details to support your answer.
there are certain considerations or factors that everyone takes into account in a
relationship. people may look for honesty, altruism, understanding, loyalty, being
thoughtful etc! everyone would more or less wish that the person s/he is dealing
with, has some of these virtues above. Putting them in an order according to their
importance, however can be very subjective and relative.
When someone asks him/herself the question "What do I consider to be the
most important thing in my relationship?" the answer depends on a lot of factors
such as how his/her earlier relationships were.
After stating that everyone's opinion can be different about this, for me honesty,
in other words, always telling the truth is the most important consideration
in a relationship. opposite of this is inarguably lying and if someone needs to lie,
either s/he is hiding something or is afraid of telling me something.
In any relationship of mine, I would wish that first of all, the person I'm dealing
with is honest. Even though s/he thinks that s/he did something wrong that I
wouldn't like, s/he'd better tell me the truth and not lie about it. Later on if I find out
about a lie or hear the truth from someone else, that'd be much more unpleasant. In
that case how can I ever believe or trust that person again? how can I ever believe
that this person has enough confidence in me to forgive him/her and carry on with
the relationship from there. So if I cannot trust a person anymore, if the person
doesn't think I can handle the truth, there's no point to continuing that relationship.
Although I would like to see altruistic, understanding, thoughtful and loyal
behavior from people, an instance of_ the opposite of these behaviors would not
upset me as much as dishonesty would. Among all the possible behaviors, dishonesty
is the only one for me that terminates how I feel about a person's reliability.
Therefore honesty would be my first concern and the most important consideration
in a relationship.