Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Due to the increase in technology, the world is changing rapidly and people in the present days are busier because of work pressure. However, a plethora of people contents that people in the past were happier but others disagree with the statement. Not surprisingly, the number of controversies over this issue is overwhelmed. Among this controversy, I personally believe that people in this era are less happy or less satisfied. I feel this way for several reasons I will expound in subsequent followings.

To commence with, people in the present days are more independent and less connected with the family members. They spend most of the time in their workplace and have spend less time with family. As a result, they are not comfortable to share problems with their family which is one of the causes of dissatisfaction. Whereas, in the past, people had enough time to enjoy with their family members and also shared problems, stresses, pressures. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I started college, I started living in dormitories. At first, I shared everything with my mother and I felt comfortable and satisfied after sharing. But, a few years later I recognized myself that I am not just like before. Then I started finding reasons and realized that this was because of my dissatisfaction to life and less connection with my mother. Therefore, I started expressing my feeling to my mother I felt so glad and cheerful.

Furthermore, the industrial revolution and technological growth is also the cause of unhappiness. Due to the rapid growth of the internet, media, social networking site makes people more depressed. For instance, one of my cousins fan of Selena Gomez who always tries to imitate her. She follows everything of her like the dress, exercise, diet chart or even makeup. But, in the end, when she realized that she does not look like her she feels regret. Another is, with the diversification of job field people can not reach their desired goal and the result is unhappiness. But, in the past field was limited and they can easily fulfil their dream.

To recapitulate, I personally believed that in present days people are more unsatisfied because of weak relationship, less job satisfaction and depression etc. whereas people in the past decade faced those problems less.