Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding the issue of whether it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a successful future in the past, different people hold divergent opinions. Some would maintain the standpoint that they disagree with this statement because they contend there were still many different type of jobs which made people unconvincing to choose one of them. I partly agree with their notion. However, from my point of view, I agree with this statement, it is true for people to identify what type of career lead to a secure future more easily in the past.

Firstly, the type of career or job have increased a lot compared to the past, which become more complicated and difficult for people to choose. As the whole fast-paced society developed, many jobs and careers are invented, like professional video games player. As a saying goes in China, a man is afraid of entering a wrong career for himself which means the choose for future career is critical for everyone. Consider my own experience which can shed some light on this issue. I was a college student whose major was civil engineering, whereas I disliked it and didn't have any talent in that major because my poor space imagination. Thus I changed my major to computer science which suits my interests. However, not everyone can be so lucky, the real thing is numerals young people hesitate whether the career or job they choose can lead to a successful future considering their interests and social development.

Secondly, the fast development of artificial intelligence had replaced many existed jobs and no one would know what jobs would be replaced in the future. Twenty year ago, no one would think about the development of AI could have such a severe result on jobs. However, this is a big problem we must to face today, more and more jobs don't need people to do. From this perspective, it becomes much harder for people nowadays to identify what type of job can lead to a bright future because no one wants to be replaced by robot or machine. According to a survey conducted by Wuhan university in 2018, it predicted about 12% jobs would disappear in 20 years, like security or even driver.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that the types of career or job are also many in the past. Nevertheless, the type of career of job nowadays tend to change faster and have the impact of AI. All the factors lead it is harder to identify ideal career today.

To sum up, whereas there is an argument for disagreeement that it was easier to identify what type of career would lead to a secure future, namely the same big number of jobs in the past, increasing a lot of jobs, coupled with the development of AI impact on choosing jobs makes a strong case for the statement that in the past it was easier to identify what type of career of job would lead to secure, successful future.