Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In civilized and industrialized societies, human beings have always strived to improve their living standards and be more independent in their day-to-day lives. Today, it is axiomatic that young people like to make decisions by their own. A plethora of people possess the conviction that today's youth are less dependent on their parents than on the past, and they make decisions without the parents' interference, whereas others might hold exactly the opposite view. I firmly endorse the first conviction instead of the later one. In what follows, I am going to delve aptly into the outstanding reasons to advocate my point of view.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that nowadays youth want to broaden and promote their horizons in order to find pragmatic approaches and viable solutions to surmount their problems without the intervention of their parents. In fact, it can give rise to an increase in their satisfaction and esteem. It is also important to bear in mind that if young people are under supervision of their parent, they will feel bad and will not be satisfied with themselves. Therefore, they try to live without any interference of their families. By and large, it is established beyond doubt that every success stems from being independence. A recent empirical study conducted on successful employees of the most famous company in my country shows that 90 percent of them were independent in their works and not under the supervision of their parents during their youth. Therefore, these results support the conspicuous bond between the one's independence and the success of future.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that today parents are educated and knowledgeable and are well aware of the impact of independence on their children's future. Accordingly, these sophisticated people try to raise their children so that they can make their own decisions. It should be stressed that it can intensify their chance to become a successful and perfect person in near future. One of the startling facts which flabbergasted me is that some parents erroneously think that youth are not mature enough to make decisions about their life. In my own experience, I can live apart from my family and make significant choices about my life with my own thoughts. Because, my parent has raised me as an autonomous individual and they know about a pivotal role of independence in my future opportunities. I would not have been the prosperous person had my parent not raised me independently.

To put it in briefly, all the enumerated reasons lead us to the conclusion that nowadays not only youth tend to be independence of their families, but also the modern parents attempt whose children have an independent personality. However, a paramount issue that must be mentioned is that this cannot be used for everybody and some counterexamples might exist, which are not mentioned above. As a result, I suggest conducting a surveys and studies to answer to this question more precisely.