Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In civilized and industrialized societies, human beings have always strived to improve their standard living and bring more convenience to their day-to-day lives. Today, it is axiomatic that people usually elapse the longer part of their life knowing about news that is occurring around the world. A plethora people possess the conviction that knowing about events happening around the world is important for each person, whereas others hold exactly the opposite view. I firmly endorse the first conviction instead of the later one. In what follows, I am going to aptly delve into the most outstanding reasons to advocate my point of view.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that in the world we live in, everything is changing and the criteria on which assessments are based have been altered. Therefore, it is undeniable that people should know about these altered events for advancement of their lives. In fact, whoever has a lot of information about the events that have happened around the world will be better able to choose her or his future opportunities. For example, in recent decade, the value of dollars has risen highly in my country and those who have updated their information about economic and political issues have benefited from this situation and have become rich people.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that nowadays one of the events that is taking place is related to technological advancement, which is progressing at an incredible growth pace. It should be stressed that if we know about this and adapt with it, we will have more comfortable life by use of the up-to-minute technology. In my own experience, my parents are reluctant to update themselves with this technology advancement and do not obtain the information about using it in their lives. For this reason, they deal with the problems in the use of electronic devices such as mobile and computer. So, it can give rise to the reduction of self-esteem and self-satisfaction. Consequently, they would have been satisfied had they used the updated technologies.

To put it in briefly, all enumerated reasons lead us to the conclusion that knowing about events happening around the world can be useful for obtaining one's opportunities of future and may have positive impact on one's life. However, a paramount issue that must be mentioned is that this cannot be used for everybody and some counterexamples might exist, which are not mentioned above. As a suggestion, it is better to conduct more surveys and studies to answer this question more precisely.