Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the preceding decades, the job has played a paramount role in human beings’ lives. Today it is axiomatic that people usually elapse the longer part of their life working. Some people possess the conviction that it is important that parents can encourage their teenage children to take a part-time job in order to prepare them for adult life, while others hold exactly an opposite view. Whether one agrees or disagrees with this depend on the lens through which one is looking. I firmly contend that persuading teenage children to take a part-time job by their parents is one of the best ways to prepare them for adult life. In what follows, I am going to aptly delve into the most outstanding reasons to advocate my viewpoint.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that teenage children can be more independent from their parents’ supervision by having a part-time job. Also, they can earn some money although it may not be adequate. To spell out the importance of dependence, it should be born in mind that every success stems from being independence. In my own experience, when I was about 15 years old, I worked in addition to studying. This issue made me feel more satisfied with myself because I could buy most things with money I acquired by working. A recent study conducted by scientists of university of Virginia on the people revealed that 90 percent of successful people are those who had a part-time job in their teenage years and thus they were made an independent personality.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that the part-time job can pave the way for obtaining new insights and experiences about different jobs. Young people are a novice at working, so it is pivotal for them to learn some skills. In essence, these jobs can intensify their chance to land a profitable vocation in the near future. As an example, the majority of companies employ people who have enough experience in their work. According to a survey conducted in eight industrialized countries, known as G8, back in 2013, most of the recruited staff in these countries are those who know a lot of skills and have various expertise.

All the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that working and having a part-time job can be useful for teenage children in order to prepare them for their adult life. However, an important matter that must be mentioned is that my idea cannot be used as a prescription for everybody and some counterexamples might exist. Nevertheless, that was a story in a nutshell. As a result, I suggest conducting more surveys and studies to answer this question more precisely.