Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In civilized and industrialized societies, teachers have played a pivotal role in universities. Today, it is axiomatic that people elapse part of their life learning at universities. Therefore, the quality of universities is very significant for them. A plethora of people possess the conviction that it is better to improve the quality of university by raising the professors’ salaries, while others might hold exactly the opposite view. Whether one agrees or disagrees this depends on the lens through which one is looking. I firmly endorse the former conviction instead of the later one. In what follows, I am going to aptly delve into the most outstanding reasons to advocate my view point.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that increasing the salaries of professors will encourage their motivation to try hard for teaching. In essence, it can enhance their performance at university. It is undeniable that people suppose that if a professor receives more money from university, he will have a greater motivation and higher teaching quality. By and large, it is established beyond doubt that a high-wage professor can have a happier and more satisfying life than a low-wage professor. Therefore, this finding can at least partly explain why high salary is intrinsic for enhancing their performance in university. In my own experience as the teacher, when my wage was increased by school, my teaching quality also raised and my students were more satisfied with me.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that from a sociological point of view, a high-wage professor has less stress to have a comfortable life. It should be stressed that nowadays money has been always among primary concerns of human beings’ lives. In other words, employees’ salaries do not keep pace with the runaway inflation. Therefore, increasing professors’ wages lead to a reduction of anxiety resulting from life expenses and professors can educate in the classroom with more focus. We all know that they would not have relaxed financially had they not received enough salary. A recent empirical study on university performance in my country revealed that one of the factors contributing to a university’s high performance is determination of appropriate and sufficient wages for professors.

To put it in briefly, all the enumerated reasons lead us to the conclusion that raising the professors’ salaries gives rise to an improvement in the education quality at university. However, some counterexamples might exist, which are not mentioned above. As a result, I suggest conducting more surveys and studies to answer this question more precisely.