Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In civilized and modernized societies, ability to make a decision by young people has been always among primary concerns of human beings' lives. Today it is axiomatic that parents usually elapse the longer part of their life on working and pay less attention to their children. A plethora of people possess the convention that it is better for youth to do their activities and find their way by themselves, whereas others might hold exactly the opposite view. I strongly and firmly endorse the former conviction instead of the later one. In what following, I am going aptly delve into the most outstanding reasons to advocate my point of view.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that the influence of social medias and internet is the key factor to shape the personality of people, exactly the younger one. Therefore, because of these effects, youth learn a lot of social activities and aspects of life by these mentioned ones. In my own experience, it should be stressed that I have learned some social behavior and personality factors from the movies and any essays which were on the internet.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that the effects of dramatic pace of societies' development and improvement. This object forces the world to change quickly, so the old people's knowledge and their favorites will cause a lot of differences between old and young people. For example, nowadays, the type of clothing, the kind of music, foods and anything else has got many changes according to the past. Therefore the old people not only can not be so sufficient to teach young people or affect on their decisions, but also in some issue they learn from youth inversely.

To put it in briefly, all the enumerated reasons lead us to the conclusion that the today young people can independently do their daily activities and decisions better than the past. However, a paramount issue that must be mentioned is that this can not used as a prescription for everybody and some counter examples might exist, which are not mentioned above.