Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Parent plays a significant role for their children specially in making decisions. however, some are of the opinion that this role has been changed considerably nowadays in comparison with past, while others believe otherwise. I- for one- subscribe to the latter idea on the ground that today's life has been changed in many aspects, namely information, job finding, and culture.

To begin with, having information is vital for making a wise decision. While in the past getting information was restricted to the surrounding people, especially family, today data can be accessed widely by using many source of information like internet, books, university education, to name but a few. That being so, young people can be more informative and are less dependent to their families to make decisions.

Secondly, in the past there was not many choices of getting jobs and children usually followed their fathers' jobs so, one of the most important decision of their life was determined by their parents. But, today people have a various option of occupations to choose among them for their future. There for they usually pursue their interests and are independent from their parents.

The last but not the least reason that reinforces the preceding assertion that young people are less dependent on their families these days, is associated with the culture. In the past, there were some strict rules of tradition that limited the people's behavior and their options. For example, they in my country young girls were compelled to marry in their very young ages. But these days people can more freely make decisions for their life. Therefore, parents have less impact in their decision making.

All in all, I do believe that nowadays young people have more independency than they had in the past because, they now have more available information, more job to choose, and also more freedom. Who can reject these incontrovertible distinguishing differences of modern young people with their ancestors?