Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ jobs.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my perspective, choosing their job arbitrarily is a better choice for children. There are several reasons that makes me believe in this option. In the following paragraphs I will briefly describe three of these reasons.

First, children may have different skills than their parents. Every person have his own skills and abilities and even though children and parents may share some common capabilities, but it is better for children to choose their job irrespective of their parents. For example, my father is a tailor and produces wonderfully beautiful clothes but, despite lots of trainings, I really do not know even simplest skills of this job.

Furthermore, every individual have his own inclinations. Every person have his own characteristics and goals, so, it would be better for him to choose his own carrier and job with respect to his own goals. For example, in my case, I am really passionate about being an engineer in robotics and work in this field. Therefore, if I chose my father's job I would not enjoy my job and for the rest of my life I would suffer from an un-entertaining job.

At last, nowadays, there exists a wide variety of job in this modern community. With the progress of technology, many jobs have become uncommon and even some has been distinct totally. For instance, in the past, there were lots of jobs as shepherds but nowadays with the improvements of the technology, the traditional methods are not being used anymore and industrial animal husbandry is the only way. Therefore, practically not every job can be selected and also new jobs need workers and hence some people have to choose other jobs than their parents.

These were some of my beliefs about this issue. I shared my own experiences in this field. To sum up, I believe although, choosing parents jobs may have some benefits such as learning from their experience and being well-known but in the most cases it would be better for children to choose their own job with respect to their skills and inclination rather than their parents, because they will live their whole life doing this job and it would be a misery to do a boring uninteresting job especially for such a long time.