Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents' jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents' jobs.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Even though there is a widely held notion that children would take advantage from jobs that are similar to their parents', I subscribe to the view that in the modern world, children should pursue their dream jobs and choose the career in which they are highly interested. My reasons of support are organized as the following.

To begin with, an individual is likely to prosper in a career that he or she enjoys and is enthusiastic about. If one's parents force him to choose the same kind of job as theirs, he would lack the requisite motivation to become successful in that field since he hasn't selected the job voluntarily. For example, my father is a renowned doctor in our town, and has always encouraged my brother to attend the medical school to be placed in my father's position after his retirement. However, my brother is exclusively passionate about music, and tried to study music as his minor field as well as medical science. After a while, our family realized that his true talents lie in music and he could never become a successful doctor, and my father's persistence would only prevent him from becoming a skillful musician rather than helping him. As a result, we started a few serious debates with my father and eventually convince him that it is the best for my brother to continue his education in music. The more one focus on his interests and expertise, the better results he will accomplish in the future.

Additionally, many people don't possess a good career and most of them have significant efforts to provide their children a good education so they would be able to qualify for careers other than their own unsuccessful jobs. These parents would even confront their kids when they decide to choose jobs analogous to their parents' since they are regretful about their job and don't want their children to suffer the way they suffer from those jobs. The parents’ experience are significantly beneficial in this manner.

However, there are also many people with prosperous businesses and careers and their knowledge and experiences can be an important asset in their children's success in the same field. For example, my uncle is an architecture and his son studied the same major since his father could provide him all the necessary knowledge in the field and could give him many job opportunities in his own construction projects. This tasks are essential to the health of the society.

In conclusion, I believe that choosing the same career as parents' is not always the best option because the children might be talented in different areas. Also many parents aren't happy with their jobs and selecting similar careers by their children isn't feasible at all.