Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are an influx of researches in various fields such as psychology, social sciences... which shows the significant positive impact of sports and social activities on young adults. Although many people believes the major of the university's funding must be dedicated to studying and classes, I think social activities should be supported financially equal for the following reasons:

First of all, it is important for students to be encourages in group activities and learn how to work as a team and in which can we bring about this trait among student better than sports?. Participating in a lot of competitions would be an excellent practice to bring students closer together.

Additionally, human nature desires entertainment and overlooking this urge would result depression and a lots of other psychological problems among students. A university that doesn’t provide enough opportunities for all students to participate in social activities such as music bands, poem sessions and athletic competitions, would end up with students who are obsessed with their studying without the enthusiasm needed for success. For example, in my university, Sharif university of Technology, there is significant lack of social activities and studying is the only priority of the students and despite the high level of education of the university which is renown in the country, everyone opinion of our students is some depressed young boys and girls who care about nothing but their grades.

As another reason, I should mention that some achievements in national sports competitions can make the university a huge fame. There are a lot of top universities which have gained their reputations by some medals in students Olympics and other major students’ tournaments.

In conclusion, supporting university in social activities not only wouldn’t harm the state of university in another areas, but also would encourage students to be more active and passionate about their college life. As a result, we would have better students, in the aspect of studying as well as so many other important aspects.