Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the past few years, video games have become a great part of the teenagers' entertainment system. We all know a lot of children obsessed with such games who spend a lot of their time on them. A lot of people believe that these games should be prohibited for children, however, in my view, they can be even helpful under some specific circumstances.

First of all, we should control the amount of time that our children spend playing video games, in order to make sure that they have not become addicted to it. Computer games addiction can be a very serious issue for families, especially families with teenager boys. If they become so attached to the games, they would play none-stop and as a result, their performance at school would be deeply affected. Changing the kids’ attitude after they have become addicted, would not be easy at all. It will require a lot of attentions, discussions, and even some therapy sessions to solve this issue.

Additionally, the content of the games should be considered very carefully. Video games who encompasses wild and aggressive missions and encourage violence in children are absolutely inappropriate. If we allow playing such harmful games, the consequences could be very costly for our family. We should choose games which are according to their age and help them to become more creative as the enjoy playing them.

Age of the child also plays an important role. Games that can be harmful to some kids at very young age, could be a perfect mean of entertainment for teenagers and keep them away from many other dangerous and unhealthy activities that teenagers often become interested in. For example, my cousin used to love playing video games. Despite his good performance at school, his parents didn’t approve of these games and they forced him to sell his Xbox so that he would study more and prepare himself for getting a scholarship for college. However, he found some other harmful activities to replace video games and in these activities, he made some bad friends who gradually turn him to a whole different person. His grades decline greatly, he became a smoker and he did not pursue studding after high school. This story taught me that forbidding computer games does not always result in a better behavior of children.

In conclusion, if we provide the games with appropriate content and in addition, monitor the amount of time our kids spent on these games, not only it wouldn’t hurt their health and their studying, but also it can be a very good source of entertainment and help to improve their intelligence.