o you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The question of whether students should focus deeply on the most related courses to their major or study various fields to obtain vast knowledge of different subjects requires essential attention. In my perspective, familiarity with different classes and areas could benefit students significantly for several reasons.

First of all, to make a proper decision for future careers, students should extend their knowledge horizon and take taste in different areas rather than restricting their studying to a few subjects. To be more specific, one can find the field study most suitable to his talents and interest exclusively by evaluating his performance in many fields. For instance, before attending college, I chose electrical engineering to study. I had superficial information about the area back then, but I didn’t bother myself for broader investigation and picked this field blindly. After passing a few courses, I realize that the courses related to programming were noticeably more attracting to me while I could barely tolerate the courses exclusive to my major. Had I taken a few different classes before choosing my major, I could have avoided the difficulties which I had to go through studying this field.

Second, there is a noticeable interaction between scientific subjects. Consequently, one can never understand a specific topic deeply and work practically in that subject unless he achieves enough information about the fields which are somehow related to that topic. For example, I am an electrical engineer, in one of my assignments, I was required to design an electric tool for displacing simple objects. To accomplish this, not only did I need the fundamental skills of my own major, but also a basic knowledge of mechanical engineering was also extremely vital.

However, it is undeniable that the most significant improvements in many fields are accomplished by experts who have far-reaching studying in a specific field. But this is the case when those professionals have chosen their career and have already gained efficient information in many subjects.

In conclusion, broad educations result in a better choice of future jobs and also brings about better chances to bring your ideas into practice.