Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

As some people may hold the view that it is a perfect option to concentrate solely in one specific major and to be an expert on it; however, some others may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that it is a wise choice to own various knowledge about the different issues. I personally agree with the second viewpoint, since there is a list of merits about the second viewpoint which outweigh the first choice. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons which persuade me to put forward this perspective.

The first exquisite reason which advocates my perspective is the enhancement of self-confidence by an individual who possesses proliferated knowledge about the different issues. It is lucidly obvious that in any case with which a person is familiar is easy for him or her to tackle it or express his or her opinion. Hence, if an individual has a broad information about the various tasks, he or she are more prone to illustrate his or her thought; moreover, this kind of activities are the decent experiments to improve his or her self-confidence.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting my viewpoint is that these kinds of people have more chances to find a job. Based upon the today's population growth, it is an arduous situation to find a proper work which could be responsible for person's daily life costs. In addition, since there are adequate university and training services, a majority of the people possess the same level of academic knowledge. In this chaotic condition, the employers are looking for the employees who have proliferated knowledge in the additional tasks such as foreign language, computer, and etc. A vivid example can be given to shed light on the subject is my friend and I example. Both of us were graduated from the same prestige university with the identical GPA. Moreover, both of us apply to a unique company in our field which was looking for two employees. Unfortunately, I application did not fit with their criteria, and they opt my friend with another person. When I asked for the reason of their decision, they informed me that my resume does not cover extra capabilities such as knowing French language. Thus, if I had that extra knowledge, I will be one of the employees of that company.

The last reason which confirms the accuracy of belief is that this kind of a people has an extended social network which can be considered as a big advantage of this condition. As it mentioned above, an individual with the broad knowledge owns great self-confidence; consequently, he or she enjoy to have more social interacts with other people, and this situation paves the path to the broad social communication. According to the noteworthy, intelligent research conducted in my country, more than sixty-nine percent of the population of Tehran, who possess a broad knowledge about the various issues, own more friends.

To make a long story short, based on aforementioned reasons one can logically draw the conclusion that people with broad knowledge about different subjects s better than the people with sole information about the specific subject. Since, they have more self-confidence, a better chance for employment, and expanded social connection.