Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Now a days, we can see a lot of people with some kind of specialization. But in general people tend to have interests in multiple subjects. Some people think having broad knowledge in different subjects are more favourable. Well I believe specialization in one particualr subject is better.

First, specialization makes you a better employee. Well we see a lot of people coming from different background in a company. Some people are specialized, others are not. So let's say, if I am a manager, and I have to assign some kind of work, which needs in depth knowledge of a particular subject, I will definately go with my specialised employee. Because they have got the better understanding of thier subjects. And they will take relatively less time as compare to semi skilled employee. And at the same time their output of work will be better than that of unskilled group.

Second, Specialization provides better research output. If we comapre the research papers or some kind of inventions, we see these things are generally come from the labs of universities and R&D labs of companies. So who are these people, generally working in these labs? It will be intersting to note down that most of them have phd degrees. This means that, they are specialised in thier work. And they have capability to bring some new concepts and ideas which can chnage the world.

Third, Specialization gives you a moral boost and let you gain societal respect. Well, people in our society generally respect those who have got some higher degrees. This is because to get to this place, one needs to work very hard and for a very long period of time. And other thing is that, not a lot of people actually do such kind of higher study, so this makes them a minority and respected group. And that's why people appreciate thier work and respect with due. In return this gives a moral boost to people and they spend their life more happily.

So summing up my all points, People in our society who has got some kind of specialization enjoys a lot of things like a better employment opportunity, they are better skilled to publish thier own research papers and at the same time they are respected by the society for their skill and efforts. So in this way I believe it's better to get specialization in one subject than to have broad knowledge in different subjects.