Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Nowadays people have variety of resources from which they can extract any kind of information: TV, newspapers, radio, and the Internet. The mass media provides information momently on every event which has just happened in the world. Though most people try to devour every emerging news to say informative, I do not support this approach and think that it is better to say away from news about everything happening in the world.

Starting from the crucial point that our modern world contains too much information and data to keep in memory; there is no sense to know everything about anything. Everyone has his phone with the access to the Internet, and if this person needs to find news about something, he will make it easy with his smartphone. At the same time, I believe a person should use up his memory rationally for bringing advantages to the society he lives in. How can he do this? By doing his work and being a good specialist. That’s why it is better to know more in one’s professional field rather than lay news about everything.

To continue the topic of the great amount of information, there is an idea to provide. The process of consuming any type of information requires time. Though, some people may say that we can read news on our way home or to work spot, I think we can devote this time to something better. For example, we can spend this time on learning new languages, developing new skills and etc. It will be better for self-development that reading news which do not affect your life and will be forgotten soon. For example, I prefer learning French when I am going to my university. Though, I have noticed that the man, who is on the same bus, reads articles from a local newspaper. I do not think that the most part of information in there will be interesting for him.

Moreover, there is no point in relying on news which people see or hear, because even the name of a famous TV channel or a newspaper does not guarantee that news is true. There is a high percent of reading wrong-presented news and forming narrow-minded point of view about events in the world. People need to understand that not all that was printed or written present the truth that they should know how to filter news. Forgetting to do this, they can form a wrong perception of life around. For example, the accident about the fire in the forest near my city was presented in a worse light to hide the real culprits, but all people who read the newspaper believed that news.

To sum up, I disagree that people should know about every event happening around the world, because it will not help them to evolve professionally as well as can be harmful for people’ development.