Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The world news is an integral part of our lives. Because of the news, the world became smaller. We can know what is happening in the other part of the globe while events are in progress. Some people do not like to be involved in the world news. However, I believe that news in general is effective to our well being. That is because the news provides us with important global events and makes individuals more interactive with others.

First of all, our knowledge should not be limited to our community only. What is going on around us is important as well. By figuring out how people around the world live their life, fulfill their demands, or facing their own problems then we can communicate more effectively with a wide range of people. For instance, there was a breaking news a few months ago in a neighbor country. This country had a devastating flood that left behind a hundred of injuries and a lot of families without homes and shelters. Because of the news, there was a tremendous amount of helping hands all over the world. People united trying to take some burden off and to assist who is in need. Some sent money and others provided clothes and food. Without the news, nobody would have the chance to know and that country would have suffered alone.

Second of all, being open minded has never been easy. In fact, nowadays if we tried not to live in our own bubble, we can make communication with others more easier. News teaches us habits and other peoples' culture. In a world full of diversity, we should learn how to interact with others.

As a matter of fact, when I was young I was not that interested in watching the news but I always felt that I am shallow and missing a huge part in my personality. By time, I realized the importance of knowledge and encouraged myself to improve. Therefore, I started watching world news and reading about events and important incidents. As a result, I am more open minded and more acceptable to people and I can now talk about different criteria of life.

In conclusion, the news was always a way to know what is happening around us and still is. And every person has to acknowledge its importance. For me, the news was my way to be a better individual who has more information to interact and communicate with people and help other communities if needed as well.