Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers have a great impact in the students’ life. Students can be easily affected by the teachers’ point of view, as some of them may consider the teacher as a role model. That is why teachers should carefully speak and act in front of the students. Some people think that only parents can control the behavior of their kids. However, I believe that teachers equally participate with parents in students’ personal lives. That is because students stay most of the day with teachers and friends in schools or colleges and students do respect and appreciate each word the teacher says.

Students’ day is divided between school and home. School and homework take almost most of the day, so parents eventually don’t see their kids unless after school or at dinner time. This should confirm that schools have the most impact in students’ behaviors. If teachers clearly revealed their social or political views, their will be arguments and conflicts between students about who has the write opinion or who is better than whom. Children take teachers as a role model, so they try to imitate their behavior. Eventually, this may affect students’ behavior aganist specific ethnicity or a different politically point of view. Teachers should learn students how to respect and accept each other with our differences.

Students do respect the teachers’ opinion even they were against this point of view a time ago. As a matter of fact, when I was at high school, I loved my science teacher and considered him as a role model in my future. One day he talked about his political view in some issues happened at that period of time. I was so convinced that he had the write opinion. When I arrived home, I spoke with my parents aggressively because they were against my teacher’s point of view. My parents knew instantly how did the teacher’s discussion with me greatly impact my judgement. My father calmly sat with me and corrected some mistakes I have done. However, if my science teacher had never spoken about his political view, I would never build my assumptions based on his. From this specific example, it is easy to see that teachers do affect students in a positive or negative way.

In conclusion, the school is the place where students learn how to respect and care about each other and their community. Teachers shouldn’t waste their time talking about their social or political point of views that may create problems among students and impact their future.