Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Internet is one of the keywords of our time, which will provide us with convenience and efficiency. The discussion now centers on whether the government should give more investment to internet access rather than transportation. In my opinion, I would argue that the government should try its best to develop the internet. I feel this way for three main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, one of the reasons why the government should spend money on improving internet access is that people now heavily rely on it in every aspect of their lives. What that means is that the internet has become an essential and even indispensable tool. For example, students use the internet to search for information and study; adults do shopping online; those living or studying abroad communicate and interact with their families and friends through the internet. It has been difficult to imagine a world without the internet. Thus, this evidence highlights that governments should spare no efforts to develop the internet and make it conveniently and widely accessible to the public.

Another reason is that the internet indeed plays an important role in business. For instance, some companies keep in touch with their partners located thousands of millions of miles away by using internet; they usually do business with their oversea clients through it; many foreign trade corporations can have an online conference, which helps save money and time because they do not have to pay for the transportation fees and spend time to meet. Companies can manage to do more international business and make more profits if the government would like to support the internet’s development. Therefore, more investment should be given to promote the internet.

Finally, compared with transportation, there are still more drawbacks exist in the internet because the history of the internet system is much shorter than which of the transportation system. Take my grandparents as an example. They live in the countryside which is in the outside of the city. If they have a willing to visit us, there are various ways for them to choose, such as high-speed railway, bus and plane. However, if they want to contact with us, the only choice for them is to make a phone call because the internet is still not accessible or not stable yet throughout some parts of rural areas. Given this, the government should pay more money to develop the internet, which will let the internet covers more places all over the country.

In summary, I personally believe that by developing the internet, the quality of people's life will be improved apparently. Besides, it will stimulate the growth of a nation's economy. Lastly, it can connect people all over the world easily.