Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's modern world, there are so many different ways of learning which students are challenged with them. Some people believe that it is more effective for students to grasp ideas and concepts, others declare facts as the most useful matter for students to learn. I, personally, am inclined to the former one and explain my reasons in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, learning ideas instead of facts make students more creative. Some teachers just accentuate on formulas and facts during the teaching process, and draw merely some eventual conclusion for the students instead of talking about the origin and concepts behind the facts. This method will diminish the contribution of students in the classes' discussions. On the other hand, mentors could use their students' brain skill to make them think about the ideas behind the facts. Creative concepts may be understood when students are investigating some proved ideas. For example, there was some unsolved problem in mathematics, which had occupied so many scholars for many years. Until Albert Einstein has solved them by using some ideas which had been proposed by some other mathematicians. Learning ideas will help students to think brighter and propose their innovative ideas.

Secondly, learning ideas are more effective because students can use them for solving problems on other courses. In the educational book, so many facts present which is important for course that book is for and cannot be used for other courses. Although, ideas are more widespread and students could use them widely. For example, there is an idea in chemistry which lead to a specific fact in order to find out how molecules interact with each other. In addition, the idea behind this fact can be used in other fields of science. To be more specific, when physicists want to measure the energy between two individual atoms, they can use the idea from chemistry. As is it clear, ideas are more comprehensive and will help students to understand how to think about various phenomenon.

In conclusion, based on the aforementioned paragraphs, learning ideas and concepts not only prepare students to think more creatively about issues but also will be useful for their other courses.