Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everything in the universe works based on some specific laws. These laws may be complex or obvious but requires an understanding of the phenomenon to construct the principle for it. It requires abstruse learning and observation for the student.In my opinion, understanding of ideas and concepts is important than to just learn facts.

First, understanding the concept gives us the ability to think different or something creative. Facts provide knowledge but they aren't able to give the reason behind that knowledge. For instance, the fact that earth's orbit is in the shape of an ellipse. But why it is in the shape of the ellipse, can't be only answered facts. It requires understanding. This ability to think creatively makes innovations. For example, to define any physical phenomenon, it is important to understand basic principles which govern the nature. In my view, innovations are offsprings of people's ability to understand. As we understand the aspects of the situation, we can develop new situation by understanding the factors or parameters based on that situation. For example, Newton understood how the apple fell on his head. This understanding was responsible for the generation of Newton's three laws of motion. As students are the future of the country, it is important we keep emphasizing on the understanding. It will lead to more innovative as well as more enhanced future world.

In addition, understanding gives the clear picture of the idea or the concept. It helps to think backwards. Take the example of a mechanic, what mechanics do?...they just understand how the vehicles work, what is the function of each feature or element and then think backward to find the problems. This type of retrospective thinking makes it possible to repair the vehicle for the mechanic. Students are also needed to think in this way when any mathematical or physical problem is asked. To provide right reasoning and answer, it is the ability of understanding plays an important role.

So, by summing up, understanding is essential to develop and to define the facts. In my opinion, it is most vital for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.