Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Before tendering my opinion I guess it is crucial to take a quick glance at arguments on both sides. Although Some people may hold the view that understanding is more important, others believe that students don't need to understand all materials, and in some cases learning them would be enough. From my own perspective, I concur with the first group who believe that understanding is more important. I have numerous reasons why I subscribe to distinct attitude elaborating cogently in the subsequent paragraphs.

First reason coming to my mind consolidating my standpoint is that students need to grasp a comprehensive view about the material they learned. In this regard, they surely need to understand and perceive what they study so that they could exert it cautiously in their future educational years. To be more specific, I should mention that every notion and concept that every single student learns in the school will gradually build his or her fundamental knowledge in the future. If the teachers don't pay attention to this particular matter, the students probably would study their materials neglectfully, which result superficial knowledge for them in the future.

Another reason which deserves some words here advocating my attitude is that fully understanding materials help students to think critically. In other words, they obtain the ability to criticize every piece of information that they face in their entire life. Also the psychological scholars indicate that individuals who can think critically have the better chance to cope the modern life issues such as stress, anxiety, or even fear that comes from unknown situations. In this regard, the first step of teaching critical thinking is to show kids how much crucial is to understand, and not just learn, the total concepts and material.

Apart from the points I made above there is also another reason that I want to mention. The recent sociologist scholars indicate that the more students in the elementary schools understands ideas, the more chance they have in order to enter college and university. As result, they stress on the amendments which is needed to apply in educational system so that make sure every elementary school and teacher pay carefully attention not just learning, but also on the student's understanding.

To put it briefly, I strongly in favor of significance of understanding materials for the students, since I believe this method can improve reinforce their fundamental knowledge. Plus, it can help them to improve critical thinking, and also breeds them better future in order that achieve acceptance in colleges. In a nutshell, in fact, there are multiplicity of other factors supplementing the aforementioned statements, which could be alluded here, but are not embraced due to the dearth of time. Finally it is suggested that other surveys be conducted to find out whether this particular factor has had any contribution on percentage of entering universities or not.