Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Older teenagers (16-19) should be allowed to work at paid part-time jobs.

Parents have always been trying to prepare their children to be prosperous in the future. Teenagers and especially older teenagers are in a part of life that their performance has a direct influence on their future. In this regard, there is a debate among people on whether older teenagers should be allowed to work at paid part-time jobs or not. In my opinion, parents should allow teenagers to work at paid part-time jobs. That is because they can find their real interest before entering university. Moreover, they can save money and buy some new devices like a cellphone, laptop, camera, and etc. I will elucidate my reasons in detail hereunder.

First of all, it is vital for teenagers to find their real interests before they attend university. Presence in the work atmosphere gives them this opportunity. In other words, by working before they attend college or university, they will choose their major with a better perspective. For example, when I was 18 years old, I asked my father to allow me for part-time working in his company. I worked there for three months as a trainee. I gained huge information about several careers. My father's company was related to the design of electronic boards and working in that atmosphere gradually made me interested in the electronic. In addition, that year, I should have chosen my major in university. Because of my knowledge gained from my working experience, I decided to choose electrical engineering as my major. Not only did I have a great feeling about my major, but also I succeeded to be the top student at university. If I had not worked before university, I wouldn't have approached to such prosperity.

As the second reason, in this range of age, teenagers like to have the last update of various devices. Working at paid part-time jobs is an opportunity for them to accumulate money for buying such devices. My brother's experience illustrates this issue quite well. He is among the older teenagers who love Apple's products. My father bought a phone for him last year but a weak later a new model came to markets. He asked our father to buy that new phone, but my father refused his demand. Therefore, he decided to work at a paid part-time career. After six months, he could collect enough money and bought his favorite phone. Had my father not given authority to him for that part-time work he couldn't have purchased his favorite phone.

To sum up, parents should let their old teenagers work in part-time jobs because they can choose their major at university based on their knowledge gained in the work atmosphere. Also, they can save money on buying their favorite stuff. These are my reasons for why I believe that older teenagers (16-19) should be allowed to work at paid part-time jobs.