Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents today are more involved in their children's education than were parents in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Determining whether the parents are involved in children's education is very important issue. With this knowledge more precise decisions can be made by the governments and educational programmers. This may lead to designing better educational programs by considering the involvement of parents and its results in past and now. Some may think nowadays they are more involved in their education while others may disagree. In my view, parents are more informed and involved in their children's education today rather than past because of two main reasons.

The main reason is that, Nowadays parents are themselves more educated than the past. These days, because of the progresses of technology, parents have been in high levels of schools. In the past, almost all jobs were done by means of hand and labor and people did not need to be educated to do their jobs. As a result, they could not help the children with their school homework. For example, in my childhood, I needed help to do my homework and ask my questions from someone but my father was a cook and was not educated to help me with that. However, now, my cousin helps her children with their homework and problems because she is an engineer herself. As you can see, parents being educated leads them to more involvement in their children's education.

The other reason is that, throughout the meetings being held regularly in schools nowadays the parents are being more informed of the children's' educational status. These days it is common that schools are arranging meetings every month to inform the parents about the children's' status. In these meetings parents meet with the teachers and the staff of the school so they can ask and seek for the solutions that their children's are encountering in school and education. For instance, my cousin attends in these kinds of meeting monthly and as a result she can help her children with their problems better. However, in the past when I was in elementary school my parents even did not know which level I was in. It is obvious that today are more involved in the children's' education than the past.

In sum, though some may disagree, nowadays parents are more informed and involved in the children's education. Not only do parents are more able to help them because of their own educational levels but also they are more informed of the children's status in school.