Do you agree or disagree with the following statement.

Students are more interested in politics now than they were in the past.

Throughout history, politics have played a prevailing role in every individual’s life. In this regard, there is a long-standing discussion among academicians about whether nowadays students have more contribution to such events than they had in the past or not. Some people are leading proponents of the claim that students were more interested in politics in the past. But, I firmly believe that the rate of contribution of students has soared from past up to our modern era. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through three noticeable reasons.

It is no secret that there is a consensus among academicians that the advent of technology has enhanced the level of awareness of people which provides every individual a deep insight into political issues. In other words, access of people to the News is unlimited since the Internet is saturated with every kind of information such as political News. No doubts, social networks such as Facebook connect students to each other more and more, thereby assisting them to discuss political issues easily. Hence, if they are not satisfied with an issue, they will build an event in the Facebook, and invite other students to join them. Concrete evidence of this phenomenon is abundant in our day to day life. For example, if government establishes a policy which is lethal to the environment, they will build a campaign, and show their disapproval.

Another equally important point is that finding a reasonable solution for political issues contributes to a high standard of life for every individual in the society. Nowadays political conflicts with other countries could cause a major economic crisis which accounts for an increase in the rate of unemployment. The soaring rate of unemployment is detrimental to students’ motivation for continuing their education since they could not expect a promising future for themselves. The noteworthy refreshingly intelligible statistics, revealed by a recently conducted survey in my country, demonstrate that half of students in a variety of schools believe that political issues directly influence their chance of success in the future. It goes without saying that this survey encompasses a diversity of individuals’ opinions on this issue which makes it reliable to draw a conclusion that they realize their participation in political events is essential.

Last but not the least, the advantages of participation of students in political events was investigated in the previous discussion. However, a strain of critical opinion asserts that students are not serious about important issues such as politics since their parents provide them their primary needs. These critics are making a common assumption that parents, far from providing their children a chance to participate in such events, protect them from interfering into such issues. To be sure, their opinions are not so off the mark, yet they neglect to take into account emerging forces such as the Internet which makes it possible for students to be aware of the latest news, and they cannot ignore importance of such events on their future.

To wrap it up, all aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that attending to political events provides a platform for students to prepare themselves for a promising future as well as helping their society to foster in social and political aspects, and no one could underestimate the profound effect of students in occurrence of political events. Also, authorities should put emphasis on encouraging students to consider political issues as important as other aspects of their life. If not, we will soon witness a generation of adults who suffer from lack of adequate knowledge in politics, and could not make a beneficial contribution to their society.