Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers are one the crucial facets which can gurantee the progress of a society, so as far as developing of a country is concerned, teachers should enjoy a good salary, and also a decent respec in the society. Some are of the opinion that teachers' social position has been undermined in recent years, while others believe otherwise. I--for one-- subscribe to the first idea. The reasons why I believe so will be elaborate upon hereunder.

First and foremost, the population of the teachers community has been increased dramatically. In the past years, the rate of illiteracy was quite high among people, since they did not attend school; this was in result of lacking enough schools and teachers. With this im mind, in that time, a teacher was a educated person that people respect he or she.

Second, in past years there was no as sophisticated jobs as there is todays. To be more specific, teaching was a demanding occupation which cannot be reached by anyone who wanted it. For example, in my country there was not any stock traders or other high-position jobs like this, therefore being a teacher was more valued in the past than it does todays.

The last but not the least reason which reinforces preceding assertion that teachers seems to be more appreciated in retrospect than they are now, is their salary. Teachers' income was higher in comparison with the other jobs, while today with emerging new occupations with considerable high salary, teachers and professors have an average revenue among the people. Consequently, it has resulted in less respect for the teachers, since the richer a person is, the higher social position he or she has.

All in all, to make the conclusion grounded on the above statements, I do believe that teachers have not the respect they had once a day, since today there are more teachers than the past, many demanding jobs have come into existance, and teachers income has dropped sharply in comparison with other jobs. I hope, one day our athouties come to their senses and take proper measures to give teachers what they deserve.