Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

After parents, teachers play an import role in our lives since we spend long hours with them in schools and universities. They should be highly respected because they dedicate their time to teach us new things. Some people hold the opinion that nowadays, teachers are less appreciated by society than in the past and I concur with this idea. In the ensuing lines, I will explain two reasons to substantiate my response.

First, teachers are being paid less than the past, therefore, they are not in a high social position. Needless to say that these days people tend to appreciate powerful and wealthy people. Unfortunately, teachers, at least in my country earn less than average level and they are not in a good financial condition. People are aware of this issue and it unconsciously leads them to think less of teachers. Take a 14-year-old girl whose parents are teachers, on the other hand, her classmate whose parents are doctors. She dresses well and has a fancy life. As a result, this girl thinks being a teacher is not a proper job because her parents cannot prove her well so she takes teaching as a low-level job.

Second, the number of teachers is more than in the last decades; therefore, it is not a special job anymore. Rarely were people literate in the past and a few numbers of them had a chance to teach so teaching was a well-respected job. The more people see something the more it becomes routine for them. Most of the people are educated now so they are aware they can be a teacher easily but they want something more because they count these jobs as a mundane one. People respect individuals with a cool job like being an astronaut, business manager, lawyer, etc. For instance, many of my uncles, aunts, and cousins are teachers and I believe it is a common job so everybody can have it, therefore, it is not a valuable job to me.

In conclusion, according to the aforementioned explanations and examples, I believe teachers are less appreciated that the past because they make a few amounts of money so they are in lower social position and the number of teachers is increasing, hence, teaching does not count as a special job to be highly respected and valued. I wish governments do something for this job because teachers work hard but they do not receive as much respect and attention they deserve.