Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For a long time, finding an efficient method of teaching has been indeed a great concern for teachers. Although some lecturers prefer to teach the educational materials, some teachers tend to go farther and make their personal opinions known to students as a new method. In this regard, a question might arise as to whether teachers should convey their social or political perspective to students or not. I, for one, concur with this notion that lecturers should not express their social or political views in classrooms for two compelling reasons which I will elucidate in the ensuing lines.

To begin with, if personal political or social views of teachers were against those of the board's, the probability of expulsion from school would increase. To be more specific, the board of the school might be informed of the notions which lecturers make known to students in the classroom. Never are teachers able to have good days at that school if the principal disagreed with their views, and this will definitely enhance the projection of getting fired. Take, for instance, a teacher who criticizes the former president of Iran in the classroom because of his attitude towards the Hijab in Iran; a law that forces women to cover all of their body. That being said, the principal is a huge fan of Hijab. In this situation, there would be an invisible conflict between them which be more detrimental to teacher's job position.

Secondly, it is crystal clear that some of the students look at their teachers as a role model; therefore, they have a significant impact on students' attitudes. In this regard, when lecturers convey their perspectives to students, even unconsciously, some students might take a position as an antagonist. Despite this group of students spend time in the classroom, but they do not tend towards the materials which the teacher presents anymore since their personal views about social or political are in contradiction to teachers'. My own experience can drive this claim home. When I studied chemical engineering at the University of Tehran, I must take a course in politics. After two sessions, my professor brought a controversy up about the politic crisis in Iran. Moreover, he tried to convince all the students to accept his opinion about the subject, in spite of a different vantage point that most of the students had. After all, I never participate in that class until the last session, for it was unacceptable for me to hear somethings that are not true. Had the teacher not conveyed his personal views, I would have been participating in that class, and never failed that course.

In conclusion, considering all the preceding points and examples, I vehemently believe that talking about the personal thoughts in class not only may put teachers against board but also may change some students' views about the class and the teacher. It is axiomatic that these outcomes are detrimental to both teacher's job position and the student's learning process.