Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

TV advertisements have been around for as long as the TV itself. They are a medium to market any product to the millions of people worldwide. The advertisements not only help people connect with a certain product but also help them make an educated guess while purchasing these products. However, I feel that the advertisements targeted at young ones shouldn’t be allowed because of a couple of reasons.

First, the toddlers have a natural habit of grabbing anything and everything that is colorful and shiny, such as the content shown on the TV. For this reason, the young children can be easily persuaded by the advertisements. And if their demands are not fulfilled, they could even start throwing tantrums. For example, a couple of days ago my three-year-old niece was watching TV when a ‘Peppa Pig’ advertisement popped up. She demanded that toy ever since and her parents had to buy that overpriced family of ugly pigs. Her behavior can indirectly be linked to the TV advertisement. Imagine if, in the long run, she develops the same thought process of demand & conquer, what nightmare would it be for the parents?

Another reason or my contention towards TV advertisements is that they are a source of bad eating habits in many young children. Nowadays we have all kinds of fancy and lucrative advertisements promoting junk food. Naturally, the young ones are the first to get allured by the imagery and creativity of the ads. I remember a popular chocolate advertisement which is making rounds on TV recently. It is an extremely creative advertisement which shows a world made up of chocolate and even the characters are made from the chocolate. This advertisement is one of the favorites among kids and has turned many kinds into chocolate addicts which will lead to health problems down the road.

For the reasons stated above and many more, I am against the TV advertisements targeted towards children.