Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's progressive world we live in, no one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that friends play an indispensable role in the people's life. Even though some sociologists claim that the capability to maintain friendships with a small number of people for a long period of time is superior to the ability to make many new friends, I would go against this opinion. In my view, people should be able to make new friends as many as possible. There are two main reasons why I feel this way, which are going to be explained in the following essay.

In the first place, there is always the possibility that people leave their city and immigrate to another location. In other words, if some people leave their city, they will not frequently see their friends anymore. So, it is crucial for them to be able to make new friends in their new location. By doing this, they will kill two birds with one stone because they can not only learn new things from new people, but also will not get depressed. As a case in point, when I was 20, I had to immigrate to Paris. It was so difficult for me to leave my friends but, due to the mentioned strategy, I made a lot of friends in Paris and gradually forgot my older friends and got rid of my depressing feelings.

Another factor that should be taken into consideration is that everybody's friends are not 100 percent perfect. Therefore, trying to maintain that friendship may not be the best idea. Consider a envious friend. If a person tries to compromise with them, although they become prosperous in reaching that purpose, it may not lead to the happy ending. An experience in my brother's life could be a proper example to illustrate this point. He is always saying that, "The more adverse behavior your friends have, the less success you will have in the future." This saying comes from his unfavorable happenings to him in the past, which are all because of the effects of his friends on his life.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is significant for people to have the ability to make new friends easily and as much as possible. This is mainly because of possibility of leaving the older friends and the possibility of adverse behavior for them.