Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that nowadays, media play the key role in people's lives. No one can deny the direct and indirect effects of the television, radio, newspapers, etc. on our private lives. Movies and TV programs are one of the most effective ways to entertain people. Nowadays some may hold the opinion that movies and TV programs made in one’s own country are more interesting than those made in others. However, some others may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that domestic TV programs and movies are not as interesting as the foreign ones. From my own perspective, the second belief is true. In what follows, I will pinpoint the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to substantiate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that watching foreign movies and TV programs is one of the best ways to become familiar with other countries’ cultures. It is obvious that in today’s world, the technological advancements pave the way to watch different TV programs from other countries and cultures. This improvement gives us the chance to be in touch with different cultures in the easiest and the most cost-effective way. The other fact that should be mentioned is that the broadcasting is one most effective ways to introduce one country’s culture to the others. For instance, the famous TV series Friends, which has been seen by a lot of people all over the world, is introducing the culture of American society in an appropriate way.

Most of the people believe that the domestic TV programs and movies are more interesting than the foreign ones. They mention the same culture and language as the most important factors. Although this point of view is true, people with this opinion should consider the fact that watching foreign countries’ TV programs and movies is one of the most effective ways to improve your foreign language skills. This means that by watching the programs in the language that you are learning, while you are entertained, you could improve your linguistic abilities in an efficient way. Based on recent statistics, 70% of people who were learning a foreign language, has have watched a TV program in that language at least two hours a week.

The last but not least reason by which the claim is justified is that the quality of produced programs in one country, may lead the people to become more interested in the other foreign countries’ programs. Also the poor performance of one country’s broadcasting organization will make people watch the other countries’ TV programs. By considering this fact, improving the quality of produced programs is one on of the key factors to encourage people to watch domestic TV programs.